University of Florida

Anthropology at the University of Florida

Skip to main Content   Local Links   Search   Main Navigation   Quick Links   Resources   Website   Social   Address   What is this view

Main Navigation

Quick Links

Home   Resources   Funding   Graduate Funding Opportunities   Departmental Research Awards John M. Goggin Memorial Scholarship

John M. Goggin Memorial Scholarship

Scholarship Information

An award to help defray research costs for PhD students in cultural anthropology, biological anthropology, and linguistic anthropology. This endowment was named in honor of Dr. John M. Goggin, an eminent archaeologist, who specialized in the Spanish Colonial period. He was the first archaeology professor at UF and the first Chair of the Department of Anthropology. See more information about Dr. Goggin. For further details, visit the John M. Goggin Memorial Scholarship Fund.

  • Eligibility: Dissertation level graduate students in anthropology. Multiple awards will be made available to doctoral candidates who will use the stipend for expenses related to doctoral research and/or preparation of the dissertation (e.g., photography, copying, illustrations, cartography, transcription, travel, field supplies, etc.). The awards are for reimbursable expenses only. Previous recipients of a Goggin Award are not eligible. Doctoral candidates specializing in forensic anthropology should apply for the Maples Award; likewise doctoral candidates in archaeology preparing to graduate within the year are expected to apply for the Fairbanks Award.
  • Contact: Department Chair, 1112 Turlington Hall
  • Award: Up to six $1,000 awards annually, awarded in the spring.
  • Deadline: Award deadlines will be made available through the Department annually.

Applicants for the award should include:

  • The attached cover sheet
  • A two-page maximum double-spaced narrative consisting of:
    • a brief summary of the dissertation topic
    • a statement of progress (including date doctoral exams were passed)
    • date of anticipated defense
    • budget
    • name of the graduate supervisory committee chair
  • A 150-word summary for donors telling what research will be conducted, where, and the relevance/importance of the research
  • A letter of support from their supervisory committee chair attesting to the relevance of the research towards a thesis or dissertation

Past Recipients

  • Myrian Barboza, 2017
  • Elise Geissler, 2017
  • Jandy Gu, 2017
  • Susan Lad, 2017
  • Stephanie Boothby, 2016
  • Justin Hosbey, 2016
  • Ellen Lofaro, 2016
  • Carola Salazar, 2016
  • Michael Wylde, 2016
  • Timoteo Mesh, 2015
  • Jorge Garcia, 2015
  • Haiyan Xing, 2014
  • John Hames, 2014
  • Crystal Felima, 2014
  • Joe Feldman, 2014
  • June Carrington, 2014
  • Marlon Carranza, 2014
  • Corey Souza, 2013
  • Danny Pinedo, 2013
  • Scott Macrae, 2013
  • Michelle Eusebio, 2013
  • Deb Andrews, 2013
  • Meredith Marten, 2012
  • Tatiana Gumucio, 2012
  • Jennifer Fiers, 2012
  • Anna Brodrecht, 2012
  • Stephanie Borios, 2012
  • Zhongzhou “Zach” Cui, 2011
  • Hillary Zarin, 2010
  • Khadidja Arfi, 2010
  • Allison L. Hopkins, 2009
  • Rachel A. Harvey, 2009
  • Amy Cox, 2009
  • Jennifer Hale-Gallardo, 2008
  • Symma Finn, 2008
  • David Mead, 2007
  • Lauren Fordyce, 2007
  • Kamal Feriali, 2007
  • Jean Dennison, 2007
  • Erin Waxenbaum, 2006
  • Rosalyn Negon, 2006
  • Deborah Johnson-Simon, 2006
  • Antonio de la Pena, 2006
  • Eric Minzenberg, 2005
  • Aline Gubrium, 2005
  • Heather Walsh-Haney, 2004
  • Fatma Soud, 2004
  • Alex Rodlach, 2004
  • Ade Ofunniyin, 2004
  • Paige Lado, 2004
  • Luis Arriola, 2004
  • Roos Willems, 2003
  • Eri Sugita, 2003
  • Sabrina Scott, 2003
  • John Schultz, 2003
  • Debra Rodman, 2003
  • Matthew McPherson, 2003
  • Antoinette Jackson, 2003
  • Mark Davidheiser, 2003
  • Elizabeth Byron, 2003
  • Suzanne Abel, 2003
  • Richard Wallace, 2002
  • Rod Stubina, 2002
  • Phoebe Stubblefield, 2002
  • Samantha Stone, 2002
  • Kathleen Ragsdale, 2002
  • Mercedes Prieto, 2002
  • Noemi Porro, 2002
  • David P. Kennedy, 2002
  • Nanette Barkey, 2002




Utility Links

Undergraduates Click Here

Social links


What is this view?

You are using a dynamic assistive view of the University of Florida site. It has all the same data and features of the original site but formatted just with assistive users in mind. It has links and content reorganized to aid assistive users and has controls at the bottom under assistive options that allow you to control key aspects such as font size and contrast colors etc.
This is not a separate text-only site, it's a dynamic view that uses unique technology from Usablenet to give assistive users better, more accessible access to the same content and features as all users that use the graphic view of the site.

Assistive Options

Top of page

Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.