GPC Honors Student Excellence During Night of Celebration

Contact: Roger Barnes
Phone: 678-891-2693
Fax: 678-891-2966
Author: Roger Barnes

Awards for academic excellence and service to the college community were given in 23 categories during the Georgia Perimeter College 2011 Celebration of Excellence ceremony held April 14 on the Clarkston Campus.

The celebration marks the second consecutive year GPC recognized the best and brightest from all four campuses and the Alpharetta Center in one campus-wide ceremony.

“We’re here to celebrate excellence from campus to campus, classroom to classroom and into the campus community,” said Nathan Singleton, Dunwoody Campus Student Government Association president, in the opening remarks. “Tonight we will see teachers, leaders, servants, students, advisors, faculty, staff and alumni who will take the walk across this stage celebrating the extraordinary achievements and outstanding service of the students at Georgia Perimeter College.”

Georgia Perimeter President Dr. Anthony S. Tricoli, said it is a pleasure to bring together so many of the college’s students who have excelled, both academically and in co-curricular activities.

“Students, thank you for giving us these wonderful accomplishments to celebrate tonight, Tricoli said. “Thank you for your extra effort, for your late nights, for balancing school with work and family obligations. And thank you for pursuing your goals when you could have given up or followed an easier path. We applaud your achievement in reaching your goals.”

Among the top honors of the night was the naming of Amanda Browning as the campus-wide GPC Regents Outstanding Scholar. Natalee Dukes (Newton Campus), Joshua Karl (Dunwoody Campus), Joanne Butler (Decatur Campus) were Regents Scholar finalists and their campus’ representatives.

Dr. Tricoli presented the President’s Award to one student from each GPC campus. The President’s Award recognizes students who achieve the highest academic excellence and who stand out in the areas of service, leadership to the student body, service to the faculty, staff and students of GPC.

President’s Awards were given to  Julian Traas (Alpharetta Center), Samuel Molina (Clarkston Campus), Lydia Kamau (Decatur Campus), Nathan Singleton (Dunwoody Campus) and Tomeka Nichols (Newton Campus).

In addition to these outstanding students, a campus-wide outstanding academic student was selected by each discipline. These are the students that the departments feel demonstrate best represent the highest ideals and achievement of their discipline.

Student academic awards were given in 17 disciplines. There are six categories of co-curricular awards.

American Sign Language/Interpreting

Jones Yuvonda

Behavioral Studies

Amanda Browning

Biological Sciences

Donghan Kim

Business Administration
Yohannes Smith

Kelli Lankford

Computer Science
Jihoon Lee

Dental Hygiene
Ana Castillo

Dante Dimenichi

Linda Shaw

Fine Arts
Nathan Hesse

Foreign Language
Miah de Graft-Biney

General Humanities
Kerlern Tuitt

Courtney Lemon

Eric Lovelace

Physical Education
Hannah Eriksen

Physical Sciences
Daniel Friedman

U.S. Studies

Tiffany Janisse

Regents Outstanding Scholar
Amanda Browning, Clarkston Campus and college-wide representative
Joshua Karl, Dunwoody Campus
Joanne Butler, Decatur Campus
Natalee Dukes, Newton Campus

President’s Award
Julian Traas, Alpharetta Center

Samuel Molina, Clarkston Campus
Lydia Kamau, Decatur Campus
Nathan Singleton, Dunwoody Campus
Tomeka Nichols, Newton Campus

Student Leadership Excellence Award
Jae E.Yoo

Daniel Fort

Student Service Excellence Award
Warren Bray

Hazel Douglas

Advisor of the Year
Eric Kendrick, Dunwoody

Student Club/Organization of the Year
The Collegian