New Nurses Celebrate With Tradition of Pinning

Contact: Rebecca Rakoczy
Phone: 678-891-2691
Fax: 678-891-2966   
Author: Rebecca Rakoczy   

For Immediate Release

Pinning, Candle-lighting Mark Celebration of New GPC Nurses

“We are ready to do the next big thing.”
That was the consensus of the 131 Georgia Perimeter Nursing students, who celebrated their graduation from the nursing program with a traditional pinning and candle lighting ceremony May 3.

In the darkened Clarkston gymnasium, the candle of knowledge and caring was lit and passed among the lamps held by the graduates. Led by Dr. Diane White, GPC dean of health sciences, the students recited in unison, “A Nurses’ Pledge,” commonly associated with the founder of nursing, Florence Nightingale.

“These are your pins—wear it proudly and remember lifelong learning,” White said as she addressed the gathering. The nursing school pinning ceremony, where new nurses receive a pin that represents their college, is a tradition that is shared at nursing programs throughout the nation.

Both the pinning and the candle lighting marked a major milestone for the new nurses, with the completion of two –and sometimes three—intense and challenging years of clinicals,checkoffs and personal sacrifices. The class –one of the largest in the past five years—represented a diverse group of individuals, many who came to the profession as a second career, after realizing nursing was their true vocation.

“We are so immensely proud of you,” said Ginny Lipke, president of the GPC Nursing Alumni Association, who addressed the group before the pinning ceremony began. “Anything is possible with the educational foundation you received here.”

Several students were recognized for clinical excellence, leadership and academics. They were:
The Jessica Bryl Award -- Cindy Lubbers
Academic Award -- Andrea Bussell
Medical/Surgical –Kendra Stowe
Mother/Baby Award -- Ashley Bowen
Pediatrics Award -- Teresa Neal.
Psychiatric-Mental Health Award --Jeffrey Cooper
Leadership Award— Eric Lovelace.
Outstanding Student Award—Katherine King