Skip to main content
Reference Materials, Journals, and Miscellaneous Texts
I'm a believer in browsing the shelves. There are many reference books both in the reference area on the 3rd floor and down in the stacks on the 1st floor (Library West). They are all arranged by call letters "CC", find "CC76..." and you will hit paydirt.
Here are a couple of reference sources for some basic knowledge. Hey, we can all use a refresher course every now and again. Both are on the 3rd floor in the reference collection.
Web Resources & Databases
National Archeological Database
The National Archeological Database, Reports module, is an expanded bibliographic inventory of over 350,000 reports on archeological investigation and planning, mostly of limited circulation.
The Digital Archaeological Record
DAR is an international digital archive and repository that houses data about archaeological investigations, research, resources, and scholarship.
Archaeology Data Service: Unpublished Fieldwork Reports (Grey Literature Library)
The aim of this resource is to make available unpublished fieldwork reports in an easily retrievable fashion. There are currently 12625 reports available and this number is increasing steadily.
AATA Online - Abstracts of International Conservation Online
Hosted by the Getty Institute, AATA Online is a comprehensive database of over 117,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
Digital Antiquity is a collaborative non-profit organization devoted to enhancing preservation of and access to irreplaceable archaeological records and data.
The Chaco Research Archive
The Chaco Research Archive is an online resource providing access to a wealth of information documenting the history of archaeological research in Chaco Canyon, New Mexico.
Digital Archaeological Archive of Comparative Slavery
Explore the DAACS Website to learn more about enslaved Africans and their descendants, living in the Chesapeake, Carolinas, and Caribbean during the Colonial and Ante-Bellum Periods. Analyze and compare artifacts, deposits, and architectural plans from different sites at unprecedented levels of detail. [Thanks Justin]
The Archaeology Channel
Archaeological Legacy Institute (ALI) is an independent, nonprofit, tax-exempt (501[c]), research and education corporation registered in Oregon in 1999. Recognizing that the archaeological record is the legacy of all human beings and dedicated to bringing the benefits of archaeology to a wider constituency, ALI was founded to address a number of critical issues now facing archaeology and its potential beneficiaries... (go to site to read more).
University of Florida Home Page
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License