University of Florida

Sociology and Criminology & Law

Skip to main Content   Local Links   Search   Main Navigation   Quick Links   Resources   Website   Social   Address   What is this view

Main Navigation

Quick Links

Home People

People

Our faculty are internationally known for their research in the areas of families, gender, and sexualities; health, aging, and the life course; environmental and resource sociology; race and ethnicity; criminology and criminal justice; and psychology and law. We take great pride in the fact that our faculty are involved in interdisciplinary research projects that span nearly of all of the University’s colleges and academic programs, including: the School of Natural Resources and the Environment, the Water Institute, the Emerging Pathogens Institute, the Center for Latin American Studies, the Center for European Studies, the Center for Women’s Studies and Gender Research, the Health Science Center, and the Jewish Studies Center. Wherever you go on campus, you will most likely find at least one Sociologist or Criminologist from our department making major contributions.

Below is a full list of our current and emeritus faculty, with links to detailed biographies and curriculum vitae. To narrow your search for faculty by department, please use the sidebar links to access the sociology or criminology, law and society directories. Please note, however, that many of our faculty teach both sociology and criminology courses, so while they may call one field their home, there is substantial overlap within our department. In the sidebar, you can also find links to our current graduate students and those recently graduated.

Faculty

Sophia Krzys Acord
Associate Director, Center for the Humanities and the Public Sphere
Assistant in Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Exeter, UK
skacord@ufl.edu
CV   Monika Ardelt
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, UNC at Chapel Hill
ardelt@ufl.edu
CV   
Marian J. Borg
Director of UF Online Program in Sociology
Associate Professor of Sociology
Undergraduate Coordinator for Sociology
Ph.D. University of Virginia
mborg@ufl.edu
CV   Kendal L. Broad
Associate Professor of Sociology and Gender, Sexualities and Women’s Studies Research
Ph.D. Sociology, Washington State University
klbroad@ufl.edu
CV   
Erica Brooke
Lecturer in Criminology
Ph.D. Public Affairs, University of Central Florida
ejbrooke@ufl.edu
CV    Michael Capece
Senior Lecturer in Criminology
Ph.D. Sociology and Criminology, University of Florida
macapece@ufl.edu
CV   
Alin Ceobanu
Associate Professor of Sociology and European Studies
Graduate Coordinator of Sociology and Criminology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
aceobanu@ufl.edu
CV   Abigail Fagan
Associate Professor of Criminology, Law and Society
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Colorado
afagan@ufl.edu
CV   
Charles Gattone
Associate Professor of Sociology and Associate Chair
Ph.D. Sociology, The New School for Social Research
cgattone@ufl.edu
CV   Chris Gibson
Associate Professor of Criminology, Law and Society
Ph.D. School of Criminology and Criminal Justice, University of Nebraska
clgibson@ufl.edu
CV   
Tanya Koropeckyj-Cox
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Pennsylvania
tkcox@ufl.edu
CV    Marvin Krohn
Professor of Criminology, Law and Society
On Sabbatical AY 2016-2017
mkrohn@ufl.edu
CV   
Jodi Lane
Professor of Criminology, Law and Society
Undergraduate Coordinator of Criminology
Ph.D. Social Ecology with Concentration in Criminology, Law & Society, University of California, Irvine
jlane@ufl.edu
CV    Lonn Lanza-Kaduce
Professor of Criminology, Law and Society
Ph.D. in Sociology and JD, University of Iowa
llkkll@ufl.edu   
Lora M. Levett
Associate Professor of Criminology, Law and Society
Director of UF Online Program in Criminology
Ph.D. Legal Psychology, Florida International University
llevett@ufl.edu
CV   William Marsiglio
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, Ohio State University
marsig@ufl.edu
CV   
Christine Overdevest
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Wisconsin
coverdev@ufl.edu
CV   Charles W. Peek
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Michigan
cpeek@ufl.edu
CV   
Stephen Perz
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Texas at Austin
sperz@ufl.edu
CV   Constance L. Shehan
Professor of Sociology and Gender, Sexualities, and Women’s Studies Research
Ph.D. Sociology, Pennsylvania State University
cshehan@ufl.edu
CV   
Tamir Sorek
Professor of Sociology and Jewish Studies
Ph.D. Hebrew University of Jerusalem
tsorek@ufl.edu
CV   Raffaele Vacca
Assistant Research Professor in Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Milan-Bicocca
r.vacca@ufl.edu
CV   
Nicholas Vargas
Assistant Professor of Sociology and Latin American Studies
PhD Sociology, Purdue University
nicholas.vargas@ufl.edu
CV   Robert G. White
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Wisconsin
rwhite@ufl.edu   
Barbara A. Zsembik
Associate Professor of Sociology and Chair
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Texas at Austin
zsembik@ufl.edu
CV   

Emeritus Faculty

Ronald L. Akers
Professor of Criminology, Law and Society
Ph.D. University of Kentucky
rlakers@ufl.edu   Leonard Beeghley
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of California, Riverside   
Charles F. Frazier
Professor of Criminology, Law and Society
Ph.D., Sociology, Southern Illinois University    John C. Henretta
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, Harvard University, 1974   
Richard Hollinger
Professor of Criminology, Law and Society
Ph.D. Department of Criminology & Law
University of Minnesota    Anthony LaGreca
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, Ohio State University   
Paul Magnarella
Professor of Anthropology
Ph.D., Anthropology and Middle East Studies, Harvard University
J.D., University of Florida Levin College of Law    John H. Scanzoni
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Oregon, 1964   
Frederick Shenkman
Associate Professor of Criminology
Ed.D. University of Florida, 1970    Charles Thomas
Professor of Criminology   
Charles H. Wood
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Texas at Austin   

Footer

Resources

Website

Utility Links

Social links

Address

What is this view?

You are using a dynamic assistive view of the University of Florida site. It has all the same data and features of the original site but formatted just with assistive users in mind. It has links and content reorganized to aid assistive users and has controls at the bottom under assistive options that allow you to control key aspects such as font size and contrast colors etc.
This is not a separate text-only site, it's a dynamic view that uses unique technology from Usablenet to give assistive users better, more accessible access to the same content and features as all users that use the graphic view of the site.

Assistive Options

Top of page


Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.