2012 Program

This year 38 students came from all parts of Ohio as well as from Pennsylvania and Michigan, representing 30 high schools.  They competed in nine teams to present a new restaurant concept. Each member of the winning team receives a $1000 scholarship valid if they choose to enroll in Kent State University’s College of Business for their Freshmen year.

About the Judges:

YBS Judges
On the final day of the program, each team presented its
restaurant concept to a panel of four judges.  Volunteering
for this were Veronica Cook-Euell, Supply Diversity
Program Manager at Kent State; Eli Faes, Public Affairs
Director with  the Ohio Board of Regents; Tara Regan
from the Akron Urban League;  and Craig Zamery,
an  Entrepreneur-in-Residence for the Kent’s
College of Business.

The Team Coaches:

YBS Team Judges
Each of the nine student teams was assigned a coach.
The coaches were College of Business undergraduate
students who helped the student teams to develop their
concepts and to plan for the final presentation.  The
coaches were:  Sarah Fortner, Michael Kerlee, D’Angelo
McCornell, Jesse Ray, Lauren Romick, Daniel Rosbottom,
Gabrielle Mingrone, Andrew Jennings and Erin Sebrell.

The Winning Teams:

YBS Winning Team
The winning team presented an idea
for an outstanding new restaurant.
Congratulations to: Barnabas  (BJ)
Brennan a Senior at Cornerstone
Christian Academy; Leandrea Udley
a Junior at Twinsburg High School;
Lacey Estle a Senior at Ashland High
School ; Joshua Heiferling a
Sophomore at Kenston High School;
and Nicole Lutz a Senior at Stow-
Munroe Falls High School.
YBS 2nd Team
The second place team members
were: Zane Doleh a Junior at North
Royalton High School; Alexis Drees
a Junior at Kenston High School;
Allison Montgomery a Senior at
Theodore Roosevelt High School;
Jack Nee a Senior at Orange High
School; and Samantha Sandone a
Senior at Hudson High School.
YBS 3rd Team
And, rounding out the top three
competitors were: Ryan Meier a
Senior at Medina High School;
Imokhai Okolo a Senior at Firestone
High School; Melanie Sonntag a
Senior at Wadsworth High School;
and Niara Stitt a Junior at Copley
High School.

Local Links

Utility Links

Text Only Options

Top of page

Text Only Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a UsableNet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.