Into the Woods

Book by James Lapine
Music by Stephen Sondheim
Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim

Into the Woods is produced through special arrangement with MUSIC THEATRE INTERNATIONAL New York, NY

Thurs, Feb 19th 2009 @ 8:00pm
Fri, Feb 20th 2009 @ 8:00pm
Sat, Feb 21st 2009 @ 8:00pm
Sun, Feb 22nd 2009 @ 2:00pm
Straughn Auditorium

Directed by Professor Mike Crum
Musically Directed by Dr. Sheryl Monkelien
Designed by Michael Crum & Brian Rance (Guest Scenic Artist)
Lighting Design - Kevin Gleason
Masks & Milky White created by Brett Piper
Choreography - Jocelyn Raychel

Classic fairy tales are given a new twist as Mansfield University presents Stephen Sondheim's INTO THE WOODS, February 19-21 2009 at 8:00pm and February 22 2009 at 2:00pm in Straughn Auditorium.

Inspired by the timeless tales of the Brothers Grimm, INTO THE WOODS tells the story of a Baker and his Wife who journey into the woods on a quest to lift a witch's curse. On the way they cross paths with Little Red Riding Hood, Jack (and the Beanstalk), Cinderella and a menagerie of other fairy tale characters. They each pursue individual wishes until their stories become entangled in unexpected ways - revealing that "happily ever after" isn't necessarily so happy after all.

In 1988, INTO THE WOODS swept the Tony Awards, winning 10 categories, including Best Musical. Among the original Broadway cast was Bernadette Peters, who starred as the witch. The original Broadway production was Sondheim's second-longest running show (behind A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum). It was revived on Broadway in 2002 and starred Vanessa Williams as the Witch.

Stephen Sondheim and librettist James Lapine have woven together these treasured fairy tales in a way that appeals to children of all ages. INTO THE WOODS has been described as "witty enough to make old stories fresh for adults, lovely enough to enchant youngsters."

The Mansfield University production is designed and directed by Michael Crum, with music direction by Sheryl Monkelien, both faculty members at MU. Guest scenic artist Brian Rance has created a magical world that parallels the wickedly witty score of Stephen Sondheim.

To listen to a sample of the music from the show, click here.


  • Narrator - Mark Rosenbaum
  • Cinderella - Danielle Montgomery
  • Jack - Joshua Streeter
  • Jack's Mother - Katie Debach
  • Baker - Mark Shoemaker
  • Baker's Wife - Meghan Zwart
  • Cinderella's Stepmother - Kerri Grewe
  • Florinda - Sydney Blade
  • Lucinda - Sarah Dennis
  • Cinderella's Father - Nathan Fulkerson
  • Little Red Riding hood - Jocelyn Raychel
  • Witch - Elizabeth Kennedy
  • Cinderella's Mother - Rachelle Brisson
  • Mysterious Man - Jonah Klixbull
  • Wolf - Nick Webb
  • Granny - Theodore Lentz
  • Rapunzel - Maria Orr
  • Rapunzel's Prince - Derek Gracey
  • Cinderella's Prince - Max Roche
  • Steward - Brady Goldsmith
  • Giant - Sarah Taylor
  • Snow White - Sara Sutsko
  • Sleeping Beauty - Amanda Horn


  • Conductor - Sheryl Monkelien
  • Violin - Andrew Jones, Stephen John
  • Woodwinds - Sara Pysher, Jennifer Monaghan, Max Grube
  • Viola - Rich Basler, Hannah Rothermel
  • Horn - Robin Sustak, Kerri Maldonado
  • Cello - Garet Holden
  • Trumpet - Dan Klinczar
  • Bass - Ryan Holmes
  • Percussion - James Garcia, Kevin Kern
  • Keyboard - Nolan DeSanto, Matt Owen

Production Staff

  • Technical Director - Michael Crum
  • Production Manager - Peter Davis
  • Assistant Director - Michelle Giles
  • Sound & Sound Effects - Tristan Jackson, Rachel Ewaniuk
  • Stage Manager - Michelle Giles
  • Rehearsal Accompanist - Nolan DeSanto
  • Costumes - Peter Davis, Pam Grabb, Sheryl Monkelien
  • Props - Derek Keifer, Chris Fallon
  • Make-up & Hair - Stephanie Hennet, Melanie DeJesus, Ashley Mulhollem
  • Stage Crew - Scott Wieland, Daniella DiBenedetto, Evan Parker, Brydon Lidle
  • Spotlights - Bri Erdmann, Blake McCabe
  • Publicity - Michael Hogue, Kim Hulslander, Alex Slaughter, Laura LeBlanc, Rachelle Brisson, Anthony Bortone
  • Poster & Program Design - Sheryl Monkelien
  • House/Box Office Manager - Megan McFadden
  • Tickets - Suzy Achey, Kelly Weaver, Caitlyn Fielding, Starr Miller, Alison Yuravich, Mike Hobbs, Abby VanGorden
  • Ushers - The Members of Sigma Alpha Iota
  • Scenic Construction - Mike Crum, Brian Rance, Peter Davis, Michelle Giles, Benjamin Anderton, Roberta Domyan, Theo Lentz, Danielle Hapeman, Robert Harris, Michael Hobbs, Douglas Kile, Bradley Lee, Brianna Osborne, Evan Parker, David Petty, Max Roche Megan Browning, Blake McCabe, Rachelle Brisson, Scott Wieland, Bri Erdmann, Brydon Lidle, Kerri Grewe, Chelsey Russell, Josh Wood, Steve Strange, Emily Kurzdorfer, Derek Keifer
  • Costumes by Spencer Community Theatre, Spencer IA

Special Thanks To...

  • MU CMENC Chapter
  • Sigma Alpha Iota
  • Music Department - Shellie Gregorich, Chair
  • Department of Communication and Theatre - Lee Wright, Chair
  • Silent G Productions
  • Peter Davis
  • The Arcadia Theatre
  • Eva Green
  • Kim Hulslander
  • Linda and Jessica Crum
  • Suzy Achey
  • Mark Polonia
  • Agway
  • Buildings, Inc.
  • Charlie Earle and the MU Print Shop
  • Vinnie Nykiel, Manager of Campus Services and the MU Building and Grounds Crew
Assistive Options

Top of page

Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.