My Favorite Year


Recent auditions for the upcoming spring musical: MY FAVORITE YEAR, resulted in a huge turnout. Director Michael Crum (Theatre) and Music Director Sheryl Monkelien (Music) have always enjoyed large turnouts for auditions but this season is one of the largest yet.

The resulting cast for MY FAVORITE YEAR is one of the largest ones yet as well. The cast of over 20 principles along with over 30 chorus and company members bring the total to close to 60 cast members!

Join the cast below when MANSFIELD UNIVERSITY MUSICAL THEATRE presents the exciting musical comedy: MY FAVORITE YEAR, spring semester 2010.

Conversations: Michael Crum

Theatre Director Michael Crum takes Dennis Miller on a tour of the set of the latest Mansfield University production, MY FAVORITE YEAR. Crum gives us a behind the scene look at how he chooses a musical, builds scenery and props and gets it all done in a short amount of time.


Benjy Stone Alex MacDonald
Alan Swann Kevin Malmrose
King Kaiser Mark Shoemaker
Sy Benson Stefan June
Leo Silver Logan Shearer
Herb Lee Derek Gracey
KC Dowling Sydney Blade
Alice Miller Meg Zwart
Belle Carroca Liz Kennedy
Rookie Carroca TJ Maro
Uncle Morty Jarrod Miller
Aunt Sadie Katie Debach
Tess Sara Robbins
Daisy Melanie DeJesus
Floor Manager Mike Hogue
Doorman Nick Webb
Roquefort Andrew Maksymowich
Sgungilli Max Roche
Princess Cathy Verbyla
Opera Diva Samantha Katch
Coffee Cup Girls Sara Dennis, Daniela DeBenedetto, Danielle Montgomery


Dean Abraham
Kim Bodhorn
Breona Crouse
Josh Hartman
Noah Kane
Stephanie Lathey
Brydon Lidle
John Miller
Kyle Niskala
Ethan Sherman

Diana Allan
Mark Bower
Hanako Henty
Derek Keifer
Laura LeBlanc
Rebecca Martz
Eudene Parson
Heather Sitek
Ben Anderton
Lindsay Brown

Chris Fallon
Ashley Jackson
Andrea Kuntz
Deanna Lemmon
Ashley Mulhollem
Alex Slaughter
Erika VanGorden
Stephanie Williams
Anthony Yeager


  • Conductor - Sheryl Monkelien
  • Violin - Andrew Jones, Stephen John
  • Woodwinds - Tim Walck, Bri Erdmann, Megan Jones, Ben Carraher, Ben Bradley
  • Viola - Amanda Trimpey
  • Trumpet - Chris Short, Andrew Mextorf, Bryan Smith
  • Cello - Austin Carter
  • Bass - Ryan Holmes
  • Horn - Margaret Barber
  • Keyboards - Nolan DeSanto, Ashley McCormick
  • Trombone - David Houseknecht, Louis Setzer
  • Percussion - Angelo Stokes, James Garcia

Production Staff

  • Technical Director - Michael Crum
  • Production Manager - Peter Davis
  • Assistant Director - Jocelyn Raychel
  • Lighting Design - Kevin Gleason
  • Sound & Sound Effects - Rachel Ewaniuk, Tim Dart 
  • Stage Manager - Michael D. Hogue
  • Rehearsal Accompanist - Nolan DeSanto
  • Sword Fight Choreography - Brydon Lidle
  • Costumes - Peter Davis
  • Props - Amanda Smith, Cari Begeal 
  • Make-up & Hair - Stephanie Hennet
  • Spotlights - Stephanie Rosengrant, Jay Parker 
  • Publicity - Mark Polonia, Amanda Smith, Stephen Lewis, Kim Hulslander
  • Poster & Program Design - Sheryl Monkelien 
  • House/Box Office Manager - Elaine Cramer
  • Tickets - Elaine Cramer, Alison Yuravich, Hope Jennings, Jessica Mohr, Derek Kiefer, Laura LeBlanc 
  • Ushers - The members of Sigma Alpha Iota
  • Scenic Construction - Mike Crum, Ben Anderton, Seth Anderton, Luke Anderton, Christopher Call, Shawn Christopher, Peter Davis, Ashleigh Fothergill, Rob Harris, Michael Hogue, Derek Keifer, Shawn Kisel, Theo Lentz, Don Many, Blake McCabe, Ashley Mulhollen, Jocelyn Raychel, Max Roche, Jamie Soper, Justine Stage, Stefan June, Kevin Malmrose, Heather Sitek, Hanako Henty, Erika VanGorden, Brydon Lidle
  • Costumes by Spencer Community Theatre, Spencer, IA

Special Thanks To...

  • Music Department - Shellie Gregorich, Chair
  • Suzy Achey
  • Department of Communication & Theatre - Lee Wright, Chair
  • Mark Polonia
  • Kim Hulslander
  • Silent G Productions
  • Peter Davis
  • The Arcadia Theatre
  • Stephanie Hennet
  • MU CMENC Chapter
  • Sigma Alpha Iota
  • The Penn Wells Hotel
  • Linda & Jessica Crum
  • Charlie Earle & the MU Print Shop
  • Vinnie Nykiel, Manager of Campus Services and the MU Building & Grounds Crew

My Favorite Year

Book by Joseph Dougherty
Music by Stephen Flaherty 
Lyrics by Lynn Ahrens 
Based on the Motion Picture
'My Favorite Year'
Courtesy of Turner Entertainment Co.
Screenplay by Norma Steinberg and Dennis Palumbo
Story by Dennis Palumbo

My Favorite Year is produced through special arrangement with MUSIC THEATRE INTERNATIONAL New York, NY

Thur, Feb 25th 2010 @ 8:00pm
Fri, Feb 26th 2010 @ 8:00pm
Sat, Feb 27th 2010 @ 8:00pm
Sun, Feb 28th 2010 @ 2:00pm
Straughn Auditorium

General Admission - $10
MU Students with ID - FREE

Directed & Designed by Michael Crum
Musically Directed by Dr. Sheryl Monkelien
Scenic Artist Brian Rance (Tower House Studios)
Choreography by Jocelyn Raychel

Assistive Options

Top of page

Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.