Skip Navigation
Phone directory
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

NAEA Student Chapter

National Art Education Association (NAEA) Student Chapter

The Student Chapter was set up in the 1990s and at present has a membership of more than 280 art education majors and alumni from the division. Its goals included:

  1. To encourage and support students to participate in both the national and the state annual conventions;
  2. To help establish mentoring relationships and make friendships within the program and beyond;
  3. To organize field trips to various local and regional educational sources;
  4. To assist in career search; and
  5. To explore possibilities for community connections.

The Chapter holds an annual election for student officers including the following positions: one president, one vice-president, one secretary, one treasurer, and 1-3 chapter developers. Committed and responsible elected officers serve one full term beginning March to mid-February of the following year.

Candidates are required to have completed Art Education Foundations ARTE 31001 with a passing grade and a declared Art Education major at KSU. The nomination week is usually held in mid-February, followed by a polling date and an official first meeting with the adviser. All candidates are required to post a brief, precise and well-written nomination statement to the entire listserv to introduce themselves and their rationale of running for the position. They also use this statement to set goals and list their previous leadership experience.

NAEA Student Chapter 2014/15 officers:

IMAGE: NAEA Student Chapter  


Vice President:



Chapter Developer:

The newly elected NAEA Student Chapter 2012/13 officers include:

IMAGE: NAEA SC12-13s  

President: Daniel Humphrey (Center)

Vice President: Krystin Smith (Second from right)

Secretary: Dilion Sedar (Second from left)

Treasurer: Jessica Casher (First from left)

Chapter Developer: Gina Santora (First from right)

KSU NAEA Student Chapter Members Academic Year 2011/12 included:

IMAGE: NAEA SC11-12s pic

President: Matthew Mohrbach (Back, center)

Vice President: Kristin Mohan (Front, center)

Secretary: Catherine Brunner (Front, first from left)

Treasurer: Ashley Kessler (Back, first from right)

Chapter Developers: Kelsey Damron (Back, second from right); Jeremy Pytel (Back, first on left); Lauren Prax (Back, second from left); Carolyn Lindsay (Front, second from right).

KSU NAEA Student Chapter Members Academic Year 2010/11 included:

IMAGE: KSU NAEA Student Chapter Members Academic Year 2010/11

President: Erin McCourt (Front, first from left)

Vice-president: Jen DeMarsh (Front, second from left)

Secretary: Christine Pace (Back, first from left)

Treasurer: Ashley Kessler (Front, third from left)

Chapter Developers: Colleen Hawkins (Back, second from left) and Sara Szilagyi (Back, third from left)

Accomplishments: The Student Chapter 2010/11 officers organized a spectacular Pinwheels for Peace event on the School of Art grounds on September 14, 2010. ( see more pictures and read more)

From the beginning of Fall semester 2010, student officers each contributed a column to a monthly web-distributed newsletter. In each issue, they generously shared important current information to the 300+ members on the NAEA Student Chapter listserv by providing valuable teaching resources in addition to information on books, artists, and important dates in art history. 

Student officers also helped the faculty prepare and arrange activities in two well-attended general meetings (once each semester); held a T-shirt and tote bag sale during their term; and spelled out the responsibilities of each chapter member’s role. The art education bulletin board in the School of Art building, 2nd floor, was regularly updated to keep everyone informed of all current events.

KSU NAEA Student Chapter Members Academic Year 2009/10 included:

IMAGE: Art Education NAEA Student Chapter Members 2009-2010

President: Dana Suloff (Third from Left)

Vice-president: Brittany Hall (Fourth from Left)

Secretary: Molly Spencer (First from Left)

Treasurer: Natalie Arthur (Fifth from Left)

Chapter Developers: Kristina Napoli (Second from Left) and Sarah Fletcher (Not  pictured)

Accomplishments: The Student Chapter 2009/10 officers organized an Art Education Art Show in the KSU Student Center May 2-8, 2010. The reception held on Thursday, May 6, 2010 from 5-7 p.m. was well attended, many family members, friends, and art education majors came to enjoy free food and support their fellow artist-peers ( see more pictures).

Student officers helped the Art Education faculty to organize a general meeting-cum-party on March 11, 2010 to introduce Student Chapter AY 2010/11 members to everyone.

Together with a small group of Art Education majors, they also attended the NATIONAL ART EDUCATION ASSOCIATION Annual Convention held at Baltimore in mid April (see more pictures).

KSU NAEA Student Chapter Members Academic Year 2008/09 included:

IMAGE: Art Education NAEA Student Chapter 2008-2009

President: Sarah Fletcher (Third from Left)

Vice-president: Jennifer (Jen) Allchin (Second from Left)

Secretary: Samantha (Sam) Rogers (First from Left)

Treasurer: Kelly Follsi (Fifth from Left)

Chapter Developers: Nicole Stahl (Forth from Left)

Accomplishments: The Student Chapter 2008/09 officers organized a Fundraising Exhibition in the Student Center during KSU Honors Week from March 31 to April 6, 2008, a well-attended semester kick-off picnic and end-of-semester party in the fall of 2008 ( see more pictures).

Student officers also represented the art education division during the NCATE evaluation presentation in November 2008, held several T-shirt sales during their term, and regularly update the bulletin board in the School of Art building to keep everyone informed.
Assistive Options

Top of page

Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.