Skip Navigation
Phone directory
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Neuroscience Program Faculty

Learn more about the Neuroscience Program faculty at Kent State University. All of our faculty members have extensive educational backgrounds that enable them to be great sources of industry information and insights. Feel free to contact any of our Neuroscience Program faculty listed below by clicking on the link to their e-mail address.

James L. Blank
jblank@kent.edu
330-672-2984

Ph.D., Indiana University. Neuroendocrine regulation of gonadal function, environmental regulation of seasonal breeding cycles, behavioral endocrinology. More on Blank

Heather Caldwell
hcaldwel@kent.edu
330-672-3636

Ph.D., Georgia State University. Neuropeptide regulation of social behaviors and neuropyschiatric disorders. More on Caldwell

Richard Carroll
rcarroll@neomed.edu
330-325-6657

Ph.D., University of Toledo. Neurodevelopment, neurodegenerative diseases, Autism, Alzheimers, inflammation and recovery. More on Carroll

Gemma Casadesus-Smith
gcasades@kent.edu
330-672-7894

Ph.D., Tufts University.  Neurobiology and neuroendocrinology of learning and memory in aging and Alzheimer’s disease.  More on Casadesus-Smith

Wen-Hai Chou
wchou2@kent.edu
330-672-2979

Ph.D., University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio. Protein kinase C in stroke-reperfusion injuries. More on Chou

Wilson Chung
wchung@kent.edu
330-672-3641

Ph.D., University of Amsterdam. Neuroendocrine brain, androgens, fibroblast growth factor signaling. More on Chung

Robert Clements
rclement@kent.edu
330-672-2984

Ph.D., Kent State University.  More on Clements

Christine Crish
ccrish@neomed.edu
330-325-6598

Ph.D., Vanderbilt University. Glaucoma, neurodegeneration, and bone loss in Alzheimer’s disease.  More on Crish

Samuel Crish
scrish@neomed.edu
330-325-6680

Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago. Glaucoma, axonal transport, structures and functions. More on Crish

Derek Damron
ddamron@kent.edu
330-672-3370

Ph.D., Kent State University. Cardiac myocytes, signal transduction, protein kinases, contractility, anesthetic agents, calcium, cardiovascular disease. More on Damron

Altaf Darvesh
adarvesh@neomed.edu
330-325-6658

Ph.D., University of Cincinnati. Development of antioxidant and anti-inflammatory strategies for neoplastic an neurodegenerative diseases, as well as psychiatric disorders. More on Darvesh

Robert V. Dorman
rdorman@kent.edu
330-672-2363

Ph.D., The Ohio State University. CNS membranes, nervous system trauma and recovery, biochemistry of multiple sclerosis and other neurodegenerative diseases. More on Dorman

Stephen B. Fountain
sfountain@kent.edu
330-672-3826

Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University. Neural and psychological basis of learning, memory and cognition; neurobehavioral toxicology. More on Fountain

Ernest J. Freeman
efreema2@kent.edu
330-672-2383

Ph.D., Kent State University. Mechanisms of neurodegeneration, multiple sclerosis, mitochondrial function, glutamate, GABA and neuronal energy. More on Freeman

Alexander V. Galazyuk
agalaz@neomed.edu
330-325-6640

Ph.D., A.A. Bogomoletz Inst. Physiol. Neuroscience of hearing, critical role of timing in sound processing. More on Galazyuk

Werner J. Geldenhuys
wgelden@neomed.edu
330-325-6474

Ph.D., North-West University, Potchefstroom. Drug discovery, neurodegenerative disorders, proteomics, bioinformatics. More on Geldenhuys

Rebecca German
rgerman@neomed.edu
410-325-6299

Ph.D. Harvard University.  More on German

J. David Glass
jglass@kent.edu
330-672-2934

Ph.D. Wesleyan University.  More on Glass

Jasmine Grimsley
jgrimsley@neomed.edu
330-325-6610

Ph.D. MRC Institute of Hearing Research.  Vocal communication, the neuroscience of hearing, and the underlying mechanisms of communication disorders.  More on Grimsley

Denise Inman
dinman@neomed.edu
330-325-6449

Ph.D., University of Virginia. Neurodegeneration in glaucoma, gliosis, neural-glial interactions.  More on Inman

Aaron Jasnow
ajasnow@kent.edu
330-672-2137

Ph.D., Georgia State University.  More on Jasnow

John D. Johnson
jjohns72@kent.edu
330-672-3849

Ph.D., University of Colorado. Neural-immune interactions, brain cytokines, mood, behavior, stress and immunity. More on Johnson

John Lovell
jlovell@stark.kent.edu
330-244-3427

Ph.D., Kent State University. Spinal processing of acute and chronic pain states - effects of age and gender. More on Lovell

Yong Lu
ylu@neomed.edu
330-325-6656

Ph.D., Univ. Missouri-Columbia. Neurotransmitter systems, GABA, glutamate, audition. More on Lu

William P. Lynch
wonk@neomed.edu
330-325-6137

Ph.D., Cornell University. Mechanisms of neurodegeneration, CNS gene therapy, RNA tumor virus pathogenesis, microglia development. More on Lynch

Jennifer A. McDonough
jmcdonou@kent.edu
330-672-2383

Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University.  Regenerative medicine, mitochondrial dysfunction and epigenetic mechanisms in multiple sclerosis.  More on McDonough

Alexander Mdzinarishvili
amdzinarishvili@neomed.edu
330-325-6545

Ph.D., Russian Academy of Medical Sciences. Neurodegeneration in brain stroke (ischemia, edema), neural stem cells (regeneration and self-repair). More on Mdzinarishvili

Eric M. Mintz
emintz@kent.edu
330-672-3847

Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz. Behavioral neurobiology, circadian rhythms, feeding, and social behavior, sex differences in biological rhythms. More on Mintz

Kyle Nakamoto
knakamoto@neomed.edu
330-325-6626

Ph.D., University of California, Irvine.  More on Nakamoto

Colleen Novak
cnovak13@kent.edu
330-672-3613

Ph.D., Michigan State University. Neural and endocrine mechanisms of thermogenesis in obesity, photic and nonphotic influences on the circadian clock. More on Novak

Moses Oyewumi
moyewumi@neomed.edu
330-325-6669

Ph.D., University of Kentucky. Drug delivery, nanotechnology, cancer, neurodegenerative diseases.  More on Oyewumi

Mary Ann Raghanti
mraghant@kent.edu
330-672-9354

Ph.D., Kent State University. Comparative neurobiology, evolution, cognition, behavior. More on Raghanti

Angela Ridgel
aridgel@kent.edu
330-672-7495

Ph.D., Marshall University.  More on Ridgel

Merri J. Rosen
mrosen@neomed.edu
330-325-6516

Ph.D., Duke University. Neural correlates of auditory perception: effects of hearing loss and experience during development. More on Rosen

Brett R. Schofield
bschofie@neomed.edu
330-325-6655

Ph.D., Duke University. Functional anatomy of auditory pathways. More on Schofield

Shobhana Sivaramakrishnan
ssivaram@neomed.edu
330-325-6639

Ph.D., University of Texas-Austin. Ion channels, synaptic transmission and neural networks. More on Sivramakrishnan

Sean L. Veney
sveney@kent.edu
330-672-3325

Ph.D., University of Virginia. Behavioral neuroendocrinology, sexual differentiation of the brain, syrinx anatomy, neuroethology of birdsong. More on Veney

Kristy Welshhans
kwelshha@kent.edu
330-672-2957

Ph.D., Georgia State University. Neural development, axon growth and guidance, local translation, Down syndrome. More on Welshhans

Jeffrey J. Wenstrup
jjw@neomed.edu
330-325-6630

Ph.D., Indiana University. Neural mechanisms of hearing and acoustic communication, including emotional responses to sound. More on Wenstrup

Text Only Options

Top of page


Text Only Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a UsableNet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.