Skip Navigation
Phone directory
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

IMAGE: Student Organizations at Kent State University
Contact Information
Matthew Thompson
mthomp58@kent.edu

Kent Student Center RM 232

Black United Students

  1. The Black Student movement began at Kent State University in the fall of 1967. On January 17th, the United Christian fellowship and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) sponsored a lecture by Henry Austin, Public Relations Director of the Deacons of Defense. Austin challenged Black Students to “unite and stand up” in an effort to organize themselves. In April, after three months of operating underground.
  2. Black United Students became a registered organization at Kent State University. Acquiring the distinction of becoming the FIRST student founded organization on the campus of Kent State University, as well as the FIRST Student founded Black Nationalist Organization. In a matter of months, the organization literally went from nonexistent to being the most powerful student group on campus.
  3. Membership in The Black United Students was, and still is; open to ALL students at Kent State University who are willing to struggle for the educational, cultural, political, and social advancement of African peoples throughout the world.
2015/2015 Black United Students Board Members:

President- Matthew Thompson mthomp58@kent.edu

Vice President- Mamadou Ndiaye mndiaye@kent.edu

Executive Secretary- Jody- Ann Whynter jwhynter@kent.edu

Director of Programming- Leia Belt lbelt1@kent.edu

Treasurer- Romero Harper rharper9@kent.edu

Director of Academic Affairs- Xavier Braxton xbraxton@kent.edu

Director of Community Affairs- Savannah McCarthy smccar12@kent.edu

Director of Political Affairs & Grievances- Vacant

Director of Public Relations- Endya Watson ewatson9@kent.edu

Director of Student Relations- Isaac Floyd ifloyd@kent.edu

"Nothing in all the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and conscientious stupidity."
-Martin Luther King
National Affiliation
Text Only Options

Top of page


Text Only Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a UsableNet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.