Skip Navigation
Phone directory
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

What is Digital Sciences?

Kent State University's School of Digital Sciences is a cutting-edge new interdisciplinary school designed to train tomorrow's digital leaders.  As an interdisciplinary school, the School of Digital Sciences brings together faculty from across the university to teach courses for the school, and our students have a unique opportunity to take selected classes from other programs as part of their major.

The school offers Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Arts degrees in Digital Sciences, an undergraduate Minor, a Master of Digital Sciences degree, and a post-Baccalaureate (graduate) certificate in Enterprise Architecture.


The Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Arts degrees in Digital Sciences help students acquire a broad understanding of digital technologies (e.g., web development, design processes, programming), gain cutting-edge technical skills (e.g., database systems, information management, digital systems security), and learn how to make technology easier to use (eg. society and culture, information ethics, human-computer interaction).  These students then study requirements engineering and project management to learn how to work on a diverse project team, and put those skills into practice on a group capstone project in conjunction with students from another major.


The Master of Digital Sciences degree is a professional Master's degree that allows students from a wide range of backgrounds to augment their skill sets.  Students have the opportunity to gain an introduction to several areas outside their undergraduate field, and then have an opportunity to specialize in a specific area of interest.  Electives provide opportunities for customization, and the degree ends with either an individual capstone project or thesis.


Is your company a potential employer for Digital Sciences Bachelor's students?  The fact sheet above briefly describes:

  • The School of Digital Sciences
  • The Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Arts in Digital Sciences, including the courses required for the major
  • The six concentrations in the Bachelor of Science, including the courses required for each concentration

For those Bachelor's students interested in software development, the diagram below (click on the diagram for a PDF version) visually summarizes the course requirements for the Digital Systems Software Development concentration in the Bachelor of Science in Digital Sciences as compared to the Bachelor of Science in Computer Science and the Bachelor of Business Administration in Computer Information Systems.

Assistive Options

Top of page

Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.