Skip Navigation
Phone directory
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).


2009-2010 President of the American Academy of Audiology english_ksmall_000

Kris English, Ph.D.has been elected the President of the American Academy of Audiology for 2009-2010.

NOAC Awarded Excellence in Education Award by AFA  

NOAC was awarded the Excellence in Education Award by the Audiology Foundation of America. The Award was presented by Dr. Kenneth Lauder, Board President of AFA, at the 2006 Convention of the Academy of Doctors of Audiology. The professionalism of the NOAC program was cited as a particular strength. The Excellence in Education Award is the highest award given by the Audiology Foundation of America.

IMAGE: award1
Shown receiving the award are:
Dr. Lauder, Dr. Sandridge of The Cleveland Clinic, Dr. Lesner, and Susan Paarlberg, Executive Director of the Audiology Foundation of America.

NOAC began in fall 2003 with a class of 39 students. The four-year post-baccalaureate program combines the strength of two nationally recognized audiology programs -- Akron’s and Kent State’s -- as well as The Cleveland Clinic Foundation, an internationally recognized healthcare provider that offers a broad range of clinical opportunities to NOAC students. 

With 79 students enrolled in the fall 2009 semester, NOAC is the largest residential Au.D. program in the United States, the only collaborative four-year Au.D. program in Ohio, and one of only four collaborative programs in the country.

Available at only 71 schools in the country, Au.D. programs prepare students to meet the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association’s new standards mandating the doctoral degree as the entry level for professional audiologists by 2007.

This award demonstrates NOAC’s excellent reputation as a national model for education in audiology.

For more information on NOAC, contact Dr. Sharon Lesner at 330-972-6118 or, or Dr. Lynne Rowan, director of Kent State’s School of Speech Pathology and Audiology (College of Education, Health, and Human Services) at 330-672-2672 or

2009 White Coat Ceremony's Keynote Speaker: Dr. Sharon Sandridge of the Cleveland Clinic

Dr. Sharon Sandridge, director of clinical services in audiology and co-director of the tinnitus management clinic and audiology research lab at the Cleveland Clinic , was the keynote speaker at the 2009 white coat ceremony. The AFA sponsored the white coats for this year's ceremony.

IMAGE: SAS Keynote Speaker 2013 white coat

Audiology Oath Administered by Author

Dr. James Steiger, a faculty member at The University of Akron and author of the Audiology Oath, led the Class of 2013 and all audiologists who were present at the 2009 NOAC White Coat Ceremony in the recitation of the Oath.

IMAGE: 2009 Oath

2009 Noac Berger scholarship presented to Raina Stromberg

Raina Stromberg, a third-year NOAC student, was named the 2009 Berger Scholarship recipient at the 2009 White Coat ceremony.

IMAGE: 2009 Berger Award Raina Stromberg

White Coat Ceremony Class of 2013

August 21 , 2009

IMAGE: Class of 2013 White Coat

Raina Stromberg: KSU Emeriti Scholarship, Sonus Scholarship, Starkey Outstanding Clinician Scholarship

Raina Stromberg, a third-year NOAC student, was awarded a number of scholarships, including the KSU Emeriti Scholarship, the Sonus Scholarship and the Starkey Outstanding Clinician Scholarship.

IMAGE: Raina Stromberg

Katie Raciboski: OSLHA 2009 Outstanding student

Katie Raciboski, a third-year NOAC student, was awarded the OSLHA 2009 Outstanding Student Award. Great job Katie!

Emily Lester awarded the Sonus Scholarship

Emily Lester, a third year NOAC student, has been named the recipient of the 2009 Sonus Scholarship.

Tammy Waybright named Starkey Outstanding Student Clinician for 2009

Tammy Waybright, a year NOAC student, has been received the award for the 2009 Starkey Outstanding Student Clinician.

Angie Gerbasi: 2009 Mary Jane Lagler Award Recipient

Angie Gerbasi, a 4th year NOAC student, was named the recipient of the Mary Jane Lagler Award for 2009 at Kent State University.

Komen Race for the Cure Team NOAC

Team NOAC raised $1,367.00 during the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure September 13, 2009 in Cleveland, OH.

IMAGE: Race For the Cure 2009_2

White Coat Ceremony Class of 2012

August 22 , 2008

IMAGE: WhiteCoatClass2012

White Coat Ceremony Class of 2011

August 24 , 2007

IMAGE: 2011

Text Only Options

Top of page

Text Only Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a UsableNet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.