Skip Navigation
Phone directory
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Alumni Awards

The William D. Taylor Award Journalism Alumnus of the Year is the most prestigious award given by the School of Journalism and Mass Communication. It is presented at Homecoming to an alumnus/alumna who is well established and well respected in the media and communication industry and has given back to JMC students and/or the School. Since its inception in 1957, more than 65 distinguished alumni have become Taylor Awards winners, including:

1957    Helen Wescott Dix    First President Journalism Alumni Association   
1958    Frances E. Murphey    Akron Beacon Journal   
1959    John Lewis Stage    Free Lance Photographer   
1960    Loris C. Troyer    Kent Ravenna Record-Courier   
1961    Kenneth F. Cole    Akron Beacon Journal   
1962    Clement C. Scerback    U. S. Information Agency   
1963    Paul P. Haney    Public Affairs Officer NASA   
1964    Russell N. Baird    Professor of Journalism Ohio University   
1965    August W. Quattrochi    General Electric Company   
1966    William Schlemmer    Akron Beacon Journal   
1967    John W. Mine    Associated Press   
1968    Ann E. Gray    Akron City Hospital   
1969    Edward Cliney    E. Edu Poul de Nemours   
1970    Donald Kirkman    Scripps Howard Newspapers   
1971    Frank Quine    Associated Press Institute   
1972    Robert West    WJW Radio   
1973    Albert Fitzpatrick    Akron Beacon Journal   
1974    Robert Burdock    The Plain Dealer   
1975    Robert Baumgardner    Griswold Eshleman Co.   
1976    O Louis Mazzatenta    The National Geographic   
1977    William Miller    Industry Week   
1978    Donald Deer    American Standard Inc.   
1979    W. Thomas Duke    B. F. Goodrich   
1980    Luella Cordier    Record Courier   
1981    Kenneth Halterman    WAKR   
1982    Max Brown    Publisher Columbus Magazine   
1983    David Meeker    President Meeker-Mayer Agency   
1984    Robert McGruder    ME/NEWS Plain Dealer   
1985    J. Ross Baughman    President Visions Photo Group   
1986    Maynard Buck, Jr.    Newspaper Publisher Cadiz/Carrollton   
1987    Charles Conconi    Columnist Washington Post   
1988    Ted Henry    Co-Anchor News TV Channel 5   
1989    John Filo    Photographer Sports Illustrated   
1990    Ron Sustana    Public Relations Consultant   
1991    Carl Grant    Senior Vice President Chamber of Commerce   
1992    Thomas Litwiler    Executive Assistant to the Chairman Westinghouse Electric   
1993    William Girgash    APCOA   
1994    Anthony May    Nieman May Communications   
1995    Alice Weston    WKYC Television   
1996    Nancy Lee    The New York Times   
1997    Kenneth Goldstein    Professor Emeritus Columbia University   
1997    Adelaide Snyder    Broadcast News Pioneer   
1997    John Scott    New York Broadcasting and Executive   
1997    Stanley Mouse    Retired CEO Cox Broadcasting   
1997    Frances Waterbury    International Educator and Journalist   
1997    Walt Seifert    Professor Emeritus Ohio State University   
1998    David McGrail    Director Live with Regis & Kathy Lee   
1999    Brian Tucker    President Plain Communications   
2000    Ronald Clark    Editorial Page Editor Paul Pioneer Press   
2001    Paul Tople    Akron Beacon Journal   
2002    Richard Edwards    Consultant   
2002    William Oliver    Vice President AT&T   
2002    Lynne Dracomier    Vice President The Hoover Company   
2002    Thomas Welsh    Vice President First Energy Corp.   
2002    Mark Nylander    Vice President Liggett-Stashower Public Relations   
2002    Cynthia Vrsansky Schulz    Senior Managing Director Dix and Eaton   
2002    King Hill    President Digiknow Inc.   
2003    Hal McCoy    Sports Writer Dayton Daily News   
2004    Jim Nash    Managing Partner Marcus Thomas Associates   
2005    Connie Schultz    Columnist Plain Dealer   
2006    Brooke Spectorsky    President and General Manager WKYC-TV   
2007    Richard Ramhoff    President and Publisher Lansing State Journal   
2008    Bob Circosta    President Bob Circosta Communication Inc.   
2009    Earl Jones Jr.    Founder Chairman and CEO of Jones Broadcast Group LLC.   
2010    Tom Jordan    Hoffman York   
2011    Stephanie Danes Smith    Central Intelligence Agency (Retired)   
2012    Elizabeth Z. Bartz    President and CEO, State and Federal Communications, Inc   
2013    Sam Roe
The Chicago Tribune

The Fast-Track Award recognizes a recent alumnus/alumna who has been a significant early achiever in his/her field. Since its inception in 2009, the following alumni have earned this honor:

2009    Lauren Harper    Crispin Porter & Bogusky   
2010    Elaine Murphy    McKesson Corporation   
2010    Brian Handler    Blue Sky Studios/Fox   
2011    Andy Alt   
2011    Kirk Yuhnke    News Achor, ABC15, Phoenix   
2012    Mandy Jenkins    Digital First Media   
2012    Haraz N.Ghanbari    University of Toledo   
2013    Shannon Lanier
Arise Entertainment 360

2013    Jenn Yokley
The Cleveland Cavaliers/Quicken Loans Arena

Text Only Options

Top of page

Text Only Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a UsableNet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.