Skip Navigation
Phone directory
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Part-time Faculty

LIS Part-Time Faculty

Fred Baerkircher
Highland Square Branch Manager
Akron-Summit County Public Library
Phone: 330-376-2927
fbaerkir@gmail.com

Roland Baumann, Ph.D
Certified Archivist
Emeritus Archivist and Adjunct Professor of History
Oberlin College
Phone: 440-775-0151
roland.m.baumann@oberlin.edu

Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University
M.A., Northern Illinois University
B.S., University of Wisconsin- Madison

Morag Boyd, M.L.I.S.
Special Collections Metadata Librarian
The Ohio State University
Phone: 614-846-8245
mboyd8@kent.edu
boyd.402@osu.edu

M.A., Illinois State University
M.L.I.S., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Carolyn Burrier, M.L.S.
Youth Services Coordinator
Coordinator for This City Reads!
Akron-Summit County Public Library
60 S. High Street
Akron Oh 44326
Phone: 330-643-9185
Fax: 330-643-9014
cburrier@akronlibrary.org

M.L.S. Kent State University
B.A., Hiram College

Amy Cooper Cary, M.A., M.S.I.
Head of Special Collections and University Archives
Raynor Memorial Libraries
Marquette University
Phone:  (414) 288-5901
acary2@kent.edu
amy.cary@marquette.edu

B.A., University of Michigan
M.A. Comparative Literature / Translation,
State University of New York at Binghamton
M.S. Information / Archives and Records Management,
University of Michigan

Catherine Closet-Crane, Ph.D.
Part Time Faculty, Kent State University
Phone: 785-537-3376
cclosetc@kent.edu

Ph.D., Emporia State University
M.L.S., Emporia State University
M.Arch., University of New Mexico
B.A., Art History, Washburn University
Ingénieur Génie Civil at Urbanisme, INSA Lyon, France

Sharon E. Dean, Ph.D.
Director of Museum Services
Ohio Historical Society
800 E. 17th Avenue
Columbus, Ohio 43211
Phone: 614-297-2501
sdean8@kent.edu
sdean@ohiohistory.org

Timothy J. Dickey, M.L.I.S., Ph.D.
Cell Phone:  (614) 785-1632
tdickey1@kent.edu

Eva Dodsworth
Geospatial Data Services Librarian and G.C. Coordinator
Geospatial Centre
University of Waterloo
Waterloo, Ontario N2L 3G1
Phone:519-888-4567 x36931
edodswo1@kent.edu
edodsworth@uwaterloo.ca
http://subjectguides.uwaterloo.ca/GIS

Magda El-Sherbini
Associate Professor
Head, Cataloging Department
The Ohio State University
Library Tech Center
1165 Kinnear Road, Room 125E
Columbus OH 43212-4500
Phone: 614-247-7456
Fax: 614-292-2015
el-sherbini.1@osu.edu

M.L.S., Catholic University of America

Gary Esmonde, M.L.S.
Librarian, Cleveland Botanical Garden
11030 East Blvd. Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone: 216-707-2812
gesmonde@kent.edu
gesmonde@cbgarden.org

Joanne Fenn, M.A., M.L.I.S.
Assistant Professor
Collections Manager/ Museum Register
Kent State University Museum
P.O. Box 5190
Kent, OH 44242-0001
Phone:330-672-0305
jfenn1@kent.edu

M.A., The University of Akron
M.L.I.S., Kent State University

Christine Fowler Shearer
FowlerArtistic@gmail.com

Brian C. Gray, M.L.I.S.
Team Leader, Research Services; Engineering Librarian
Case Western Reserve University, Kelvin Smith Library
11055 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44106-7151
Phone: 216-368-8685
Fax: 216-368-3669
bcgray@kent.edu

M.L.I.S., Kent State University
B.S., University of Akron

Janet Griffing
Workshop Instructor
Phone: 330-335-2604
jgriff6@kent.edu
murphy121998@zoominternet.net

B.S.J., Ohio University

Martina Haines, M.L.I.S.
Health Sciences/Distance Education Librarian
Slippery Rock University
Phone: 724-738-2664
Fax: 724-738-2661
mnichol9@kent.edu
martina.haines@sru.edu

M.L.I.S., Kent State University
M.H.H.S., Youngstown State University
M.S., California University of Pennsylvania

Catherine Hakala-Ausperk, M.L.S.
Executive Director, NEO-RLS
4445 Mahoning Ave. NW
Warren, OH 44483
Phone: 330-847-7744, ext. #11
Fax: 330-847-7704
chakala@kent.edu

Owner, Libraries Thrive

B.A., Kent State University
M.L.S., Kent State University
CPLA, American Library Association, 2009

Katherine Hall
Executive Law Librarian/ Associate Director
University of Iowa Law Library
234 Boyd Law Building
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-9016
khall11@kent.edu
katherine-l-hall@uiowa.edu

M.S., University of Illinois
J.D., Indiana University-Bloomington
B.A., U.C. Berkeley

Virginia Hall, MA, M.L.I.S.
Digital Librarian
Kevin Smith Library
Case Western Reserve University
Phone: 216-368-3475
vdressle@kent.edu

M.L.I.S., Kent State University
M.A., University of Leeds
B.A., Kent State University

Thomas Hayes, MFA, MLS
Freelance writer, playwright
Phone: 216-410-4075
thayes6@kent.edu
twh@thomaswardenhayes.com
http://www.thomaswardenhayes.com

MFA, Cleveland State University
MLS, Kent State University
BA, Creative Writing, Ohio University
Certificate, Nonprofit Management, CWRU

Pamela J. Hickson-Stevenson, M.S.L.S.
Deputy Director
Akron-Summit County Public Library
Phone: 330-643-9102
Fax: 330-643-9160
phickso1@kent.edu
pjoyhs@hotmail.com
http://www.akronlibrary.org/

M.S.L.S., Case Western Reserve University
B.A., Mount Union College

Charles R. Hildreth, Ph.D.
Associate Professor (Emeritus)
Palmer School of Library and Information Science
Long Island University/C.W. Post Campus
Phone: 740-654-4561
Cell: 740-304-1001
childret@kent.edu
tuxedojct@yahoo.com

B.A., Ohio State University
M.A., University of Colorado
M.L.S., Denver University
Ph.D., City University, London (U.K.)

Sharon Holderman, M.L.I.S.
Coordinator of Public Services
Angelo & Jennette Volpe Library
Tennessee Technological University
Phone: 931-372-3822
sredward@kent.edu
sholderman@tntech.edu

M.L.I.S., Kent State University
M.A., Kent State University
B.A., Mercer University

Celia Huffman, Ph.D.
Youth Services Manager (retired)
Cuyahoga County Public Library
Phone: 440-268-6228
cahuffma@kent.edu

M.L.S., Kent State University
Ph.D., Kent State University
Rex Hughes II, M.L.I.S.
Special Collections Department
Ohio State University
Phone: 614-288-0053
rhughe10@kent.edu
rexhughes2@gmail.com
hughes.1032@osu.edu

M.L.I.S., Kent State University
B.A., Capital University

Miriam Kahn, Ph.D.
Library Consultant and Researcher at-large
MBK Consulting
60 N Harding Road
Columbus, Ohio 43209
Phone: 614-239-8977
Cell: 614-579-9855
mkahn1@kent.edu
mbkcons@gmail.com
Web: http://www.mbkcons.com/

Ph.D., Kent State University
M.L.S., Queens College
M.A., Hunter College

Jodi Kearns, Ph.D.
Digital Projects Manager
Center for the History of Psychology
The University of Akron
Phone: 330-972-7952
jkearns3@kent.edu
jkearns@uakron.edu

Ph.D, University of North Texas
C.A.S., University of North Texas
M.S.L.S., University of North Texas
B.Ed., University of Windsor
B.A., University of Waterloo

Janna Korzenko, M.L.I.S.
jkorzenk@kent.edu

M.L.I.S., Kent State University

Cindy Kristof, M.L.S.
ckristof@kent.edu

Kathleen Lamantia, MLIS
Technical Services Librarian
Stark County District Library
715 Market Avenue North
Canton, OH 44702
330-458-2723
330-575-5863 (cell phone)
Klamant1@kent.edu
klamantia@starklibrary.org
Kathleen_lamantia@hotmail.com
Past and current Board Member NOTSL (Northeast Ohio Technical Services Librarians)

M.L.I.S., Kent State University
Honors B.A., The Ohio State University

Lori Lindberg, M.L.I.S. CA
Lecturer - Kent State University, San Jose State University
Schools of Library and Information Science
Consultant - Lori Lindberg, Archivist
Phone: 415-902-8919
llindbe1@kent.edu
Lori.Lindberg@sjsu.edu
msarchive@yahoo.com
http://slisapps.sjsu.edu/facultypages/view.php?fac=lindbergl

M.L.I.S., San Jose State University
CA, Academy of Certified Archivists

Deborah Loiacono, M.L.I.S.
Director
Ida Rupp Public Library
Port Clinton, Ohio 43452
Phone: 419-732-3212
Cell: 440-610-1824
dloiacon@kent.edu

M.L.I.S, Kent State University
B.A., The University of Akron

Kenneth Marantz, Ph.D.
The Marantz Collection for the Study of Picturebook Art
Emeritus Professor of Art Education
The Ohio State University
2056 Middlesex Road
Columbus, OH 43220
Phone: 614-457-5169
marantz1@osu.edu

Sylvia Marantz
The Marantz Collection for the Study of Picturebook Art
2056 Middlesex Road
Columbus, OH 43220
Phone: 614-457-5169
marantz1@osu.edu

Margaret Maurer, M.L.S.
Associate Professor, Head, Catalog and Metadata
Kent State University Libraries
374 Library
Phone: 330-672-1702
mbmaurer@kent.edu

M.L.S., Kent State University
B.A., Kent State University

Sue McCleaf Nespeca, M.L.S.
Early Literacy & Children's Literature Consultant
Kid Lit Plus Consulting
425 Hilltown Road
Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone: 330-799-0310
snespeca@kent.edu
sue@kidlitplus.com

M.L.S., University of Pittsburgh
M.Ed., Kent State University

C. Allen Nichols, M.L.S.
Library Director
Wadsworth Public Library
132 Broad Street
Wadsworth OH 44281-1897
Phone: 330-335-1299
Fax: 330-334-6605
AIM: callennichols
cnichol1@kent.edu
www.wadsworthlibrary.com

M.L.S., Kent State University
M.B.A., Mississippi State University
B.S.I.M., University of Akron
Series co-editor: "Libraries Unlimited Professional Guides for Young Adult Librarians"

Nieca L. Nowels, M.L.S.
Adult Services Manager
Westerville Public Library
Phone: 614-259-5024
Cell: 419-341-0688
Fax: 614-882-4160
nnowels@kent.edu
nnowels@westervillelibrary.org

M.L.S., Kent State University
B.M., Baldwin-Wallace College

Cynthia Orr, M.L.S.
President, Cynthia Orr Consulting,Inc.
Editor, ReadersAdvisorOnline.com/blog
Contributing Editor, Library Journal
Phone: 440-944-1242
Work/Cell: 440-840-0263
corr@kent.edu
cynthiaorr@att.net
www.cindyorr.com

M.L.S., Case Western Reserve University

Ed Rossman, M.L.I.S.
Adult Services Librarian
Shaker Heights Public Library
Phone: 216-991-2030 x3137
erossman@kent.edu erossman@shakerlibrary.org

M.L.I.S., Kent State University
M.A., Ohio University
B.A., Cleveland State University
Marie Sabol
msabol1@kent.edu
SabolM@hudson.edu

Joseph A. Salem, Jr., M.L.S.
jsalem@uakron.edu

M.A., Kent State University
M.L.S., Kent State University
B.A., Cleveland State University

Edith Serkownek
Assistant Professor, Kent State University 
Special Collections and Archives and June F. Mohler Fashion Library
Phone: 330-672-2751 A.M.
Phone: 330-672-9500 P.M.
M.L.I.S., Kent State University
M.A., Ursuline College
M.A., SUNY
B.A., Beloit College

Katherine Scherrer, M.L.I.S.
Owner, Connected Communities
Phone: 614-216-0656
kscherre@kent.edu
katie@connectedcommunitiesconsulting.com

M.L.I.S., Kent State University
B. A., Capital University

John E. Simmons
President, Museologica
128 E. Burnside Street
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania 16823-2010
Cell Phone: 303-681-5708
jsimmo20@kent.edu simmons.johne@gmail.com

B.S., University of Kansas
M.A., University of Kansas

Thomas Szudy, M.L.S.
Grant Writer
Library Consultant
Phone: 440-239-1985
tszudy1@kent.edu
tszudy3978@wowway.com

M.L.S., Case Western Reserve University

Susan Weaver, M.S.L.S.
Professor of Library and Media Services
Director of Library Services
Kent State University, East Liverpool Campus
Phone: 330-382-7432 (on campus 77432)
Fax: 330-382-7561 (on campus 7561)
sweaver@kent.edu

M.S.L.S., Clarion University
B.G.S., Kent State University
A.A., Marshall University

Richard Wisneski, Ph.D.
Assessment and Special Projects Officer
Kelvin Smith Library
Case Western Reserve University
10900 Euclid Ave.
Cleveland, OH 44106-7151
216.368.6599 (w)
rwisnesk@kent.edu

IAKM Part-Time Faculty

Len Asprey
Knowledge Management Online
lasprey@kent.edu

M.S., Queensland University of Technology

Samantha Bailey, M.I.L.S.
User and Task Analysis
sbailey8@kent.edu
samantha@baileysorts.com

M.I.L.S., University of Michigan

Iouri Bairatchnyi, Ph.D.
Knowledge Management Online
lbairatc@kent.edu

Kathleen H. Begler, MPM, RHIA
Health Informatics
begler@duq.edu

Master of Public Management, Carnegie Mellon University

Madelyn Blair, Ph.D.
Knowledge Management Online
mblair10@kent.edu
Madelyn@Pelerei.com

Pratim Datta, Ph.D.
Health Informatics
Assistant Professor
Kent State University College of Business Administration
330-672-1229
pdatta@kent.edu

Nicole Fernandez, M.S.
Knowledge Management
ncf7@georgetown.edu

M.S., Georgetown University

D. Linda Garcia, Ph.D.
Knowledge Management
garciadl@georgetown.edu

Ph.D., University of Amsterdam
Master's, Columbia University

Annie Green, D.Sc.
Knowledge Management Online
202-326-4000
agreen51@kent.edu
annie.green@att.net

D.Sc., George Washington University
M.S.I.S., George Mason University

Denise Lee, CVM
Knowledge Management Online
dlee46@kent.edu
denise.lee@us.pwc.com

Edward Mahon, Ph.D.

Knowledge Management Online
Vice President, Information Services, &
Chief Information Officer
Kent State University
Phone: 330-672-4704
emahon@kent.edu
Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University
M.B.A., University of Tennessee, Knoxville

William Robinson, M.L.I.S., M.B.A.
Knowledge Management Online
wrobins3@kent.edu

M.L.I.S., Kent State University
M.B.A., The Ohio State University

Taverekere (Kanti) Srikantaiah, Ph.D.
Knowledge Management Online
tsrikant@kent.edu

Kenneth J. Weiss, M.A.
Online Branding
kennethjweiss@gmail.com

M.A., Kent State University
B.A., Kent State University

Ben Woods, M.S.
Information Architecture-IAKM
User Experience Lead
Eaton Corp.
dwoods4@kent.edu

Text Only Options

Top of page


Text Only Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a UsableNet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.