Kent State University Courtyard

The Faculty Senate is the faculty governing body for Kent State University.  It is primarily concerned with matters of university educational policies, curriculum, academic and professional standards, and the establishment, discontinuance and major alteration of academic programs.  The senate also possesses shared responsibilities and advisory responsibilities.  In addition, the Faculty Senate may consider other matters pertaining to the welfare and mission of the university.

  • Currently, there are 46 Senators representing 20 different electorates, 25 non-voting Ex-Officio members, and 3 Observers (1 Emeritus Professor, 1 Graduate Student Senate, and 1 Undergraduate Student Senate).  
  • Senators are elected each year on a rotating basis for three-year terms.  
  • Each year, the Senators elect the Executive Committee, which consists of a Chair, a Vice Chair, a Secretary, and an At-Large member.  
  • In addition, 2 appointed members are selected for the Executive Committee.

Meeting Details

All Faculty Senate meetings are held at 3:20 pm in the Governance Chambers of the Student Center.

Review the Faculty Senate Charter (University Policy 2-05) 
Review the Faculty Senate Bylaws (University Policy 2-06)

Assistive Options

Top of page

Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.