Main Navigation

UF Faculty Reading Initiative

View the FRI Symposium Faculty Roundtable discussion and Lecture by Beverly Daniel Tatum

On July 7, 2004 UF President J. Bernard Machen announced the Faculty Reading Initiative (FRI) co-sponsored by the Office of the President and the Center for the Study of Race and Race Relations (CSRRR). The FRI presents a unique opportunity to bring together the more than 4,000 UF faculty members to facilitate discussions on a boundary-crossing issue.

The selected text for the Initiative will be, Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria? And Other Conversations About Race (Basic Books, 2003) by Dr. Beverly Daniel Tatum. This book features a frank and wide-ranging discussion of race and race relations. Tatum sensitively and broadly addresses issues of racial identity, race-related curriculum development, and the need for cross-racial dialogue. Her well-indexed book is also a wonderful resource for additional material. Professor Tatum, a trained clinical psychologist, is the president of Spelman College.

The FRI will culminate in a two-part symposium on September 9, 2004, at the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts. The first part, from 1:30 to 3:00 p.m., will consist of a faculty roundtable discussion. Twelve faculty members, representing various UF colleges and disciplines, will engage in a wide-ranging discussion of Tatum’s book in particular and race-related curricula issues in general. The second part, from 3:00 to 4:30 p.m., will feature a lecture by Dr. Beverly Tatum, followed by a question and answer session.

For further information, please contact Dr. Gail Baker, Co-Chair, Inauguration Steering Committee, at 846-3903 or Dr. Katheryn Russell-Brown, Professor & Director, Center for the Study of Race and Race Relations, at 392-2225.

Visit the Faculty Reading Initiative website at:

Faculty Reading Initiative Roundtable Program


Terry Mills, Roundtable Moderator
Associate Dean for Minority Affairs and Associate Professor of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Dorette Ellis
Assistant Professor of Pharmodynamics, College of Pharmacy.

Catherine Emihovich
Dean and Professor, College of Education.

Berta E. Hernandez-Truyol
Levin, Mabie & Levin Professor of Law, Levin College of Law.

Michael Leslie
Associate Professor of Telecommunications, College of Journalism and Communications.

Joseli Macedo
Research Scientist and Adjunct Assistant Professor, College of Design, Construction and Planning.

Vasudha Narayanan
Professor of Religion, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Kenneth Nunn
Professor of Law, Levin College of Law and Co-Founder, Center for the Study of Race and Race Relations.

Donna Parker
Assistant Dean for Minority Affairs and Clinical Assistant Professor, Pediatrics,
College of Medicine.

Sharon Rush
Irving Cypen Professor of Law, Levin College of Law, Associate Director, Center on Children and the Law, and Co-Founder, Center for the Study of Race and Race Relations.

Brian Ward
Associate Professor and Chair, History, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

David Waybright
Professor of Music and Director of Bands, College of Fine Arts.

Zhihui Fang
Associate Professor, School of Teaching and Learning, College of Education.

Published: July 7th, 2004

Category: Academics

Comments are closed.

Assistive Options

Top of page

Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.