University of Florida

FlaLawOnline -

Skip to main Content   Search   Main Navigation   Resources   Website   Social   Address   What is this view

Florida Supreme Court justices welcomed to UF Law for appellate advocacy competition

Published: February 28th, 2011

Category: News

From left, Florida Supreme Court Justice Jorge Labarga, Justice Peggy A. Quince, Justice Barbara J. Pariente, Chief Justice Charles T. Canady, Justice R. Fred Lewis, Justice Ricky Polston and Justice James E.C. Perry stand with UF Law students from left, Monica Haddad, Mary Katherine Tinsley, Leah Edelman, Wilbert Vancol, David Hughes and David Evans. (Photo by Nicole Safker)

The University of Florida Levin College of Law welcomed all seven Florida Supreme Court justices for the 27th annual Maguire Appellate Advocacy Competition on Friday in the Martin H. Levin Advocacy Center courtroom.

In the fictional appeal case of Zydeco, Inc. v. Mary Macdonald, Leah Edelman (3L) and Wilbert Vancol (3L) were the petitioners on behalf of pharmaceutical company Zydeco, Inc., challenging the constitutionality of “The Drug Free Texifornia Act of 2010.” David Evans (3L) and Monica Haddad (2L) were on the responding team representing Texifornia Attorney General Mary Macdonald. Alternates were Mary Katherine Tinsley (3L) and David Hughes (3L).

As the petitioners and respondents stated their cases, members of the Florida Supreme Court asked questions and challenged the competitor’s arguments, allowing the team members to demonstrate their appellate advocacy skills. The Maguire Competition provides the Florida Moot Court Team with valuable practice for the upcoming American Bar Association National Appellate Advocacy Competition.

At the end of the competition, Chief Justice Charles T. Canady announced that Vancol won the award for best oralist in the competition and the best team award went to the petitioning side.

“I just want to say that we’ve heard some outstanding advocacy today,” said Canady. “It is obvious that the people arguing here before this court today were well prepared and are skillful advocates who have a very promising future as advocates in the law, so we want to congratulate all of you.”

The competition is named after Raymer F. Maguire Jr. (JD 15), son of the founder of Maguire, Voorhis & Wells, P.A., managing partner of the firm, and UF Law alumnus. In the summer of 1998, Maguire, Voorhis & Wells, P.A. merged with the law firm of Holland & Knight LLP, who continued the tradition of sponsoring the competition.

For more photos, view the gallery on our Facebook page.




Social links


What is this view?

You are using a dynamic assistive view of the University of Florida site. It has all the same data and features of the original site but formatted just with assistive users in mind. It has links and content reorganized to aid assistive users and has controls at the bottom under assistive options that allow you to control key aspects such as font size and contrast colors etc.
This is not a separate text-only site, it's a dynamic view that uses unique technology from Usablenet to give assistive users better, more accessible access to the same content and features as all users that use the graphic view of the site.

Assistive Options

Top of page

Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.