University of Florida

FlaLawOnline -

Skip to main Content   Search   Main Navigation   Resources   Website   Social   Address   What is this view

Florida Moot Court Team hosts final four competition Friday

Published: August 27th, 2012

Category: News

Moot Court

From left, Megan Coughlin, Cullen Boggus, Nathan Diehl, Ian Dankelman and Blake Neumann, will compete this Friday in the 27th annual Zimmerman Kiser Sutcliffe Final Four competition. (Photo by Maggie Powers)

On Friday, the Florida Moot Court Team will showcase its new members in the 27th annual Zimmerman Kiser Sutcliffe Final Four Competition at 10 a.m. in the Martin H. Levin Advocacy Center.

The top four competitors from this year’s tryout competition will demonstrate their oral advocacy techniques before a panel of judges including Judge Stephanie W. Ray of the Florida First District Court of Appeal, Judge T. Kent Wetherell, II also of the Florida First District Court of Appeal, and Senior Federal Judge Stephan P. Mickle of the Northern District of Florida. Blake Neumann and Ian Dankelman will represent the petitioner, the United States Government; Megan Coughlin and Cullen Boggus will represent the respondent, Jack Fritz; and Nathan Diehl has been selected as an alternate for the competition.

This year’s competition issue delves into the pressing concerns of cellphone privacy under the Fourth Amendment and a minor’s right to counsel under the Fifth Amendment. These current, polarizing social issues will spur compelling arguments and zealous advocacy. Given that seating will be limited in the Advocacy Center, the arguments will be displayed simultaneously via video in HOL180 and will also be broadcast online at

Congratulations to new members who will be on hand to support the final four: Chelsey Clements, Jessica Clements, John Curry, Dick Eagles, Arielle Eisenberg, Alfredo Ferrer, Victoria Forson, Kristina Gandre, Stephanie Generotti, Matthew Goodwin, Heather Griffin, Alex Kruzyk, Kate Livanec, Matthew Moats, Joey Posey, DeeDee Scheller, Jennifer Smith, Robert Sowell, Kevin Stone, and Danielle Tamir.

In addition to the intramural competition, the Florida Moot Court team sent two teams to compete in competitions across the state this summer: Danielle Grundt, Ryan Hopper, and Dylan Shea represented the team in at The Florida Bar Competition in June. Will Anderson, Ryan Gilbert and Tyler Hudson represented the team at the Earle Zehmer Worker’s Compensation Competition in August.  Both teams performed strongly and Ryan Hopper won Best Oralist at the Florida Bar Competition. The team looks forward to an active competition schedule this fall.

Robert O’Linn (3L)
Special to FlaLaw




Social links


What is this view?

You are using a dynamic assistive view of the University of Florida site. It has all the same data and features of the original site but formatted just with assistive users in mind. It has links and content reorganized to aid assistive users and has controls at the bottom under assistive options that allow you to control key aspects such as font size and contrast colors etc.
This is not a separate text-only site, it's a dynamic view that uses unique technology from Usablenet to give assistive users better, more accessible access to the same content and features as all users that use the graphic view of the site.

Assistive Options

Top of page

Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.