Main Navigation

UF Law welcomes distinguished judges for Maguire Competition

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – On Feb. 17, the University of Florida Levin College of Law will welcome a distinguished panel of Florida judges to preside over the 28th annual Maguire Appellate Advocacy Competition. The competition begins at 10 a.m. in the Martin H. Levin Advocacy Center courtroom. The event is free and open to the public.

This year’s panel includes Senior United States District Judge William Terrell Hodges, from the Middle District of Florida; the First District Court of Appeal’s Stephane W. Ray; United States Magistrate Judge Thomas B. Smith from the Middle District of Florida; and the First District Court of Appeal’s Bradford L. Thomas.

“We are honored to host such a distinguished panel of judges,” said Leigh Anne Siddle (3L), president of the Florida Moot Court Team. “Their assistance in preparing our competitors will ensure success in the upcoming American Bar Association National Appellate Advocacy Competition. We encourage all to attend to witness excellence in oral advocacy.”

The Maguire competition provides the Florida Moot Court Team with valuable practice and the distinguished panel will provide useful critiques regarding their oral arguments before the teams proceed to compete in the premiere ABA competition. This year’s competitors are Daniel Lazaro (3L), Jordan Peterson (3L), Dylan Shea (2L), and Andrew Labbe (3L). The competitors are supported by alternates Leigh Anne Siddle (3L) and Kelsey Veitengruber (2L).

One of the foremost national moot court teams, the Florida Moot Court Team competes each year at over a dozen tournaments throughout the country. Founded in 1961, the team’s mission is to promote excellence in appellate advocacy. Most recently, the Florida Moot Court Team accomplished this goal at the Andrews Kurth Moot Court National Championship in Houston. This competition is an invitation-only event extended to the top-ranked national teams. At this competition, team member Alex Landback won National Best Speaker for the entire competition.

Originally, the Maguire Appellate Advocacy Competition was sponsored by the Orlando law firm of Maguire, Voorhis & Wells, P.A. The competition is named after Raymer F. Maguire, Jr., son of the founder of Maguire, Voorhis & Wells, P.A., managing partner of the firm, and alumnus of the UF Law. In the summer of 1998, Maguire, Voorhis & Wells, P.A. merged with the law firm of Holland & Knight LLP, who also became a proud sponsor of the competition.

The competition will be available as a live webcasts at

Leigh Anne Siddle, President, Florida Moot Court Team

Tagged as:

Published: February 8th, 2012

Category: News

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Assistive Options

Top of page

Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.